Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
Prestige Awards
Share |





The Prestige Awards is sponsored annually by the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters to recognize outstanding achievements by Louisiana radio and television broadcasters.This competition was established to encourage the highest standards of reporting, community service and production creativity. 

2020 Prestige Awards will be held on Tuesday, March 10th at the L'Auberge Hotel and Casino in Baton Rouge, LA.

Be on the lookout for new awards this year!
Hall of Fame (Click here to review specifics for nominee)
Young Professional of the Year
Best Podcast



2020 Award Entry Guidelines

The Prestige Awards is open to LAB member stations which have a primary audience in Louisiana.
Entries must have been produced and broadcast during the period from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019. Entries must be totally created and produced by the station. Material produced with outside advertising or production agency assistance is not eligible. Entries are limited to one per station in each of the categories. An entry can only be entered in one category.
LAB Member stations must be in good standing and have paid their 2020 dues.
All entries must have :30 second video with sound for the award presentation. If your submission doesn’t have this, your submission will be disqualified.

There is no entry fee to participate in this contest.

If it is determined an entry is not fully locally produced and/or is entered with false documentation, the station and ownership of that station will not be permitted to submit for that award for a period of two years.
As in any contest, conflicts may arise. Issues involving judging of entries will be resolved by the judges; their
decisions will be final. Issues involving interpretation of the rules and procedures of the LAB Prestige Awards will be settled by the Executive Staff of the LAB and, if deemed necessary by the Executive Staff, in consultation with the LAB Awards Committee. Their decisions will be final.

To insure objectivity, judging is conducted by a panel of broadcast experts from outside the state of Louisiana. They will evaluate all entries based on the criteria listed in the “Awards Categories” sections on the following pages. There will be one winner in each category. If the judges think an entry was submitted in the wrong category, they may move it to the proper category. The decision of the judges will be final.

TELEVISION         Large Market          Baton Rouge, Lafayette, New Orleans/Metairie,
                                                                Shreveport/Bossier City
                              Small Market          All others

RADIO                   Large Market          Baton Rouge, Lafayette, New Orleans/Metairie,
                                                                Shreveport/Bossier City

                              Small Market          All others

Below are directions for preparing and submitting entries. Because of the new categories, you will need to register again this year and create new login information. If you have questions, please contact the LAB office at (225) 267-4522 or via email to Laura Smith at

A.) Go to
Create your account in seconds.
B.) Click “Submit Entry” from your station page and fill in the blanks.
C.) Acceptable file types for entries include:
.mp3, .mp4, .avi, .mov, .wmv, .doc, .pdf, .png, and .jpg
D.) Video entries must use a link from YouTube, Vimeo or other video hosting sites.
Audio: Upload to
  or other hosting site
Important: Check URL’s to make sure they are correct, and they work. If password protected, you must provide username/password in the Comments section of your entry. Judges may disqualify your entry if work samples are inaccessible.

Entries must be submitted electronically through the website no later than 5:00 pm on Monday, February 3, 2020.

To check out the 2019 Prestige Awards Photos, click here!


Best Use of Social Media –Radio

WYNK-FM Baton Rouge, La.

Best Use of Social Media - Television

WWL-TV New Orleans, LA

Community Service – Radio

KHXT-FM Lafayette, La.

Community Service – Television

KSLA-TV Shreveport, La.

Uniquely Louisiana – Radio

KOGM-FM Carencro, La.

Uniquely Louisiana – Television

WYES-TV New Orleans, La.

Election Coverage – Radio

WBRP-FM Baton Rouge, La.

Election Coverage – Television

WDSU-TV New Orleans, La.

Best Sports Show – Radio

KLWB-FM Carencro, La.

Best Sports Show – Television

KNOE-TV Monroe, La.

Best Live On-Site Remote - Radio

WWOZ-FM New Orleans, La.

Best Weathercast - Television

KTBS-TV Shreveport, La

Best Morning Show - Radio

KRVE-FM Baton Rouge, La.

Best Morning Show-Television

KLFY-TV Lafayette, La.

Best Interview - Radio

WZRH-FM New Orleans, La.

Investigative Reporting - Television

WBRZ-TV Baton Rouge, La.

Best Personality/Team - Radio

KQID-FM Alexandria, La.

Breaking News – Television

WVUE-TV New Orleans, La.

Promotion of the Year – Radio

WXOK-AM Baton Rouge, La.

Promotion of the Year – Television

KADN-TV Lafayette, La.

Station of the Year – Small Market Radio

KVPI-FM Ville Platte, LA

Reporter of the Year – Television

Kiran Chawla, WAFB-TV
Baton Rouge, La.

Station of the Year – Medium Market Radio

KXKZ-FM Ruston, LA

Best Series or Documentary – Television

WDSU-TV New Orleans, La.

Station of the Year – Large Market Radio

KRRV-FM Alexandria, La..


Photojournalist of the Year – Television

Rick Rowe, KTBS-TV
Shreveport, La.

Station of the Year – Major Market Radio

WDGL-FM Baton Rouge, La.

Station of the Year – Small Market Television

KALB-TV Alexandria, La.

Best Newscast – Television

WAFB-TV Baton Rouge, La. 

Station of the Year – Large Market Television

 WAFB-TV Baton Rouge, La.

LAB Scholarship

Chloe Warren, Louisiana College

LAB Scholarship

Jamarcus Fitzpatrick, Louisiana College

Student Broadcaster of the Year Radio

Maurice Tandy-Patton, Grambling State University
Grambling, La.

Student Broadcaster of the Year Television

Madison Kaufman, Louisiana Tech University
Ruston, La.

Broadcast Engineer of the Year

Clyde Pierce, WBRZ-TV
Baton Rouge, La.

Lifetime Achievement – Radio

Carol Ross, KPEL-FM
Lafayette, La.

Broadcaster of the Year

Flynn Foster, Guaranty Media
Baton Rouge, La.

Lifetime Achievement Television

Steve Schneider, WAFB-TV
Baton Rouge, La.

Louisiana Hall of Fame Inductees & Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients 

Contact Us

Louisiana Association of Broadcasters
660 Florida Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70801 USA

Phone: +(225) 267-4522

Fax: +(225) 267-4329